Friday, September 29

1PM ET // 12 PM CT // 11AM MT // 10AM PT

Register here

Many Climate Collaborative companies are committed to sourcing, at some level, organic foods and ingredients. One frequently asked question we get is: “How does organic mitigate climate change?”

The National Soil Project at Northeastern University and The Organic Center just announced a study, to be released in October, looking at this issue. The study shows that organic soils have significantly higher levels of humic substances. This means that not only can organic be better at sequestering carbon (spoiler alert: up to 26% more!), but it is effectively locking away carbon in long-term reserves that would otherwise be in the atmosphere.

Dr. Tracy Misiewicz, an author of the study, will join to present information related to these discoveries and organic’s general relationship to carbon sequestration. She will review how—and which—organic farming practices have been shown to mitigate climate change more than general conventional farming practices, and dig into the study methodology and results.

Attendees will walk away with a toolbox of information they can use to communicate organic’s benefits to their customers and forward their own agricultural projects related to climate mitigation.

WHEN
September 29, 2017 at 1pm - 2pm
CONTACT
Lisa Spicka ·

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.